How to build dynamic form with Django based on user input

I am new to Django and I want to achieve the following.

I need to be able to define the displayed form depending on the user input. The end goal is to show the user a form where he can input his exercises performed for a particular day. But depending on the type of exercise, the underlying Model is different. For example, for typical strength exercise, the model is that an exercise is a combination of sets, reps and weight. While if the exercise is a typical cardio one then the model is a combination of time and distance.

So, in the user form, I would like to have checkboxes with the different exercises’ types (strength, cardio) and if the user check one or several boxes, then the form displays the associated “sub-form” for the underlying exercise model. And of course, for each “sub-form” the user shall have the possiblity to add one or more entries (so one or more exercises of the same type).

What is the correct way of achieving this with Django ? I have read that AJAX requests are needed but I know nothing about AJAX (in fact I know nothing about web application :)) and I could not find somewhere in the Django documentation such an application.

Thanks for your help.

This is a complicated question and will depend on how you want to display data on different exercises.

To start with, I would look into formsets, specifically inlineformset_factory, which will help you send multiple related rows to a form, as well as provide basic functionality to add/remove rows. This doesn’t need ajax (though can be done in a more modern way by using ajax).

You could then define differnet types of formsets corresponding to the different types of exercise, have corresponding templates for these, and include the one you want, pass the formset you want to the main template, and you could do all of this without using ajax.