How to create calculated fields?

Django noob here. I did the tutorial from beginning to end and I started a project on my own.

I have trouble setting up the Django model for a strange attractor (fractal). The model expects the user to enter a specific string (parameters), which will be used to build a special strange attractor. This attractor has some attributes that should be stored in the database. The trouble is I cannot refer to the value of the parameters field without some reference to the class. I have isolated the problem in the create function but I still cannot call this function.

The order of events should be:

• user enters the parameters
  • parameters are read and used to build a strange attractor (attractor)
  • the attractor is used to fill the calculated fields
  • all fields are committed to the database

Anyone some idea how to set this up correct or point me to an example?

```
class StrangeAttractor(models.Model):
  parameters = models.CharField('Coefficient String', max_length=200)
  pretty = models.IntegerField('Pretty')

# create a Quadratic map from the coefficients
def create(self):
    instance = self.objects.first() # get(id=1)
    value = instance.parameters
    self.attractor = Quadratic(value, 10000)

# define helper functions to extract the attributes of 
# the strange attractor
def get_status(self):
    return self.attractor.status

def get_lyapunov(self):
    return self.attractor.lyapunov

def get_fractal_dim(self):
    return self.attractor.fractal_dimension()

def get_coverage(self):
    return self.attractor.coverage

def get_distance(self):
    return self.attractor.distance

def get_date(self):
    now = datetime.now()
    return now.strftime("%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")

status = property(get_status) # models.CharField('Status', max_length=40)
lyapunov = property(get_lyapunov) # models.FloatField('Lyapunov 2')
fract_dim = property(get_fractal_dim) # models.FloatField('Fractal Dimension')