Importing folders (and sub-folders) of Markdown posts into an SQLite query

I’m learning Python and Django to migrate my website from Eleventy. I have a folder of posts with subfolders that are broken down by year, and then by month. I’m reading up on importing files and folders into an SQL database as well as learning how to set up Django models.

It’s definitely a learning curve for me, plus I only started learning HTML and CSS to make my own website about a year ago, so I’m writing this as a bit of a sanity check to see if I’m understanding so far what I have to do. (My Eleventy knowledge isn’t great, I had to pretty much rely on the Discord support to help me get the site’s plumbing built because the documentation wasn’t great for a beginner.)

Right now I have two basic, tentative models built for my articles: one is for the articles themselves, and one is for the tags. These articles will go on my homepage, and they can be sorted or filtered by tags or through archives by year or year-and-month.

I keep seeing examples for importing files with Python by looking through all the data files in the folders and then importing all that data into a CSV file — is it ideal or recommended to import all the posts’ text into a CSV (or JSON) file and then importing that into the SQLite database, or should I import the posts’ data straight into the database?

If using a CSV file is recommended, since I have a JSON feed for my posts, should I replace CSV with JSON?

Naturally, let me know if anything I wrote is confusing or you need more details. I’ve been wanting to dabble with Python for a while, and migrating my site seems like a great way to do so, even if I’m diving off the deep end a bit. I’m happy to learn!

Actually, it’s not.