inspectdb issue

Hi All,

Good Morning!!! I am new to Django development and I am having the following issue.

My scenario is as follows:

1. I have Microsoft SQL Server with database “timesheet” already (with 10 tables)

2. I have created an environment with Python 3.9.7 and django = 3.2 and also have django-mssql-backend = 2.8.1 and mssql-django = 1.1.2

3. I have created the project and an application first_app

4. I wanted to get the models in SQL server in [models.py]
    #python manage.py inspectdb
    but this gives the following error

Unable to inspect table ‘Tbl_Employee’

The error was: () missing 1 required positional argument: ‘collation’

Unable to inspect table ‘Tbl_EmployeeGroup’

The error was: () missing 1 required positional argument: ‘collation’

and the same error comes for all other tables.

1. I was first using django 4.0.2 and there too in the inspectDB i got the same error so i created this new environment with django to 3.2 - I am getting the same error in both environments

Could you please help with the following scenario.

Kindly let me know if you require any further info.

Thanks,
Boomessh V

It doesn’t make sense to have both - you can only use one. Check your DATABASES setting to which one you’re using - I suspect it’s mssql-django, since it’s newer (mssql-django is a fork of django-mssql-backend, now maintained by microsoft).

As to the error: Django provides the inspectdb command, but it’s up to the database backend to ensure that it works. Therefore this is a bug with django-mssql-backend or mssql-django. Report the bug there, they won’t see it on the forums. I’m sure they will ask for more details regarding the tables in question - perhaps you can show them the SQL CREATE TABLE statements.