Models -Type errors, and Primary keys

Hello, I’m new to Django, and models.

Is there any reason why a Model would throw an error without using a custom primary key(primary_key=True)

Without using the custom primary key, in any module I create, I get the error below.

Type Error: Field ‘id’ expected a number but got ‘author’
Type Error: Field ‘id’ expected a number but got ‘name’

my code:

from django.db import models

class Plan(models.Model):
author = models.CharField(max_length=64)
the_plan = models.CharField(max_length=64)

def __str__(self):
    return f"{self.author}"

class Weapon(models.Model):
name = models.CharField(max_length=64)
type = models.CharField(max_length=64)

def __str__(self):
    return f"{self.name}"

Thanks for any help!

All Django models have a primary key. See Model field reference | Django documentation | Django and Models | Django documentation | Django.

1 Like

I’m new to Django as well but have succesfully used models that did not have a custom primary key. In these situations Django creates an id pk automatically. When are you receiving these errors?

1 Like

I had a few practice projects with several baseline apps installed. Each had a few models created, all without a custom primary key. Everything was working, I went back in a day later, and I could not save the models in the ORM.

I kept getting this error below:

Type Error: Field ‘id’ expected a number but got ‘first_name’

Adding a custom primary key to each model stopped the errors, and I was able to save the model and make migrations. Without the custom, primary key things would break, and the Type Error returned.

I created some new projects, and models without the custom key, and all function properly.
I’m not sure what happened. Maybe the python cache files were causing a conflict?

Anyways, it was all just dummy data, but a strange event nonetheless in this learning process.