need idea creating my project

Hello guys!

I hope you are all doing good.

So I am a student, and I’m supposed to create this project as an academic activity, but I want to know what would be the best practice for doing this project.

Project details:

I have access to a REST API (let's call it API # 1)

and I'm asked to develop my own django API (API # 2)based on the API # 1

so I'm just confused. normally, I have a django project with all data inside database and I create API using data using product models. but in this case, I have no database, no models. the data is coming from API # 1.

The API#2 will be doing exactly the same thing as API#1. so for example if one of the API#1 endpoints says: /api/v1/users gets us a JSON like {name: jhon, age:1}

then

this API #2 would have exactly a mirror endpoint and it is supposed to return exactly the same data so in this case API#2 would be:
/api/v2/users ===> {name: jhon, age:1}

I also have to create some sort of logger that will log the request sent to these API# 2 endpoints and whether it was success/failed with timestamp.

so how do I go about implementing this project??

thanks for your time.

As there are multiple ways of doing this, and since this is a class assignment, I’d suggest the following ideas:

1. What have you already been exposed to, that would help you perform these individual steps?
    1. Do you know how to develop an API?
    2. Do you know how to request data from an API?
  2. Do you have any guidance at all from your instructor?
  3. Have you talked to any of your co-students to discuss how they’re approaching this?

Ken

1 Like

hello good sir, thanks for you reply.

1. I have done number of full stack applications using Django such as creating a library management system and school management systems so I would say I have fair grip on the core concepts of Django and know how to apply them.