Save conflict when submitting forms.

Hi, I’m kinda new to coding. I’m looking for directions.

Issue 1)

I have model formset, displayed like a list, that have 2 fields each that can be changed. On saving/submit, I also trigger some functions that changes values on the page.
More than one person should be able to work with the same fields at once. Let’s say, like Office 365 or Google Docs.
The problem is that every time someone changes something, it’s easy to override each other, if the client don’t have the latest version of the page, it will override all the changes.

So which way should I take for this conflict to be solved/alerted? I’m running Django on Apache so websocket and channels seems like a bit of work. Is it recommended running Django with ASGI?
Should I run Daphne as primary and Apache as reverse proxy?

Could I use Ajax instead and solve everything with only JavaScript?
Maybe a popup “Models for these forms have changed, please refresh the page. Saving now will override the latest version”.

Issue 2)

The forms take kinda long time to load. I loop the formset in the template, around 40 forms.
So I would like to make them load faster if the solution is auto refresh.
Also, refresh the whole page when changing one field will take a lot of time.

Thanks in advance

Concurrent updates fits into the general category of “hard” problems.

First, you need to decide what you want the UX to be. How do you want the page to behave in this situation?

I do have a situation where I have a set of “settings” presented as a div containing a set of radio buttons. It is possible for multiple people to be looking at those settings at the same time. It’s also possible for there to be an external event changing the values underlying those buttons.
And yes, in this case, it’s all tied together with websockets.

If you want the browser to receive a notification of something being changed, the server needs a way to asynchronously contact the browser.