SetPasswordForm - changes password, but login fails :(

Apologies, I’m new to Django, so this might be super obvious.

I’m trying to test the user change-password functionality on my webapp.
I can see that the password has successfully changed when I login as admin and look at the relevant user-id (the redacted salt and hash values both change). However, I’m unable to login with the new user credentials (username and password mismatch). The password encryption algorithm hasn’t changed (pbkdf2_sha256) - so I’m not sure where it’s going wrong.

Below is a snippet of the relevant part of the code:

uid = force_str(urlsafe_base64_decode(uidb64))
user = MyUser.objects.get(pk=uid)

# ...

form = SetPasswordForm(user,request.POST)
if form.is_valid():
    user = form.save(commit=False)
    print('user = ' + str(user))
    print(form.cleaned_data.get("new_password1"))
    user.save()

The print statements above show exactly what I was expecting (i.e. the test username and the new password are printed).

Is this something to do with me creating a new user model MyUser rather than the Django out of the box? Since SetPasswordForm takes user as an argument, I assumed all would be well.

Any help greatly appreciated. Also, if anyone knows of any solid examples I could look at of the Django authentication used in practice, I’d love to take a look. The docs are a bit dry in this area.

cheers,
Paul

You can use user.set_password(password) in order to set password received from form data and then user.save() to save the instance.

To add to @addwebsolution’s answer above, the best examples of Django authentication in practice would be to look at Django’s own authentication views in django.contrib.auth.views, along with the forms in django.contrib.auth.forms.

2 Likes

Thanks for that @addwebsolution and @KenWhitesell. I’ll have a go doing set_password explicitly.