Supporting custom JOIN query `extra(joins=['JOIN ....'])`

I’ve been using Django with my company’s project for about 3 years now, and have often wanted to create more advanced queries, without dipping into raw SQL

They often have to do with legacy decisions on model layout

A simplified example in my app:

Customer:
    name
    legacy_id: TEXT (indexed)  # ex: `"1234"`
    user = ForeignKey

User:
    username
    legacy_id: INT (indexed) # ex: `1234`

I would want to query Customer__user, not only via the user_id ForeignKey, but via the legacy_id.

I could see extra being extended to have a joins kwarg where I can inject custom SQL.

It is very similar to the tables kwarg

c = Customer.objects.extra(
    selects={'username': '"u"."username"'}, 
    # NOTE: casts `u.legacy` to `text` prior to joining
    joins=['LEFT JOIN "users" "u" ON "u"."legacy_id"::text = "customers"."legacy_id"'],
)

print(c.username)

from the docs:

This is an old API that we aim to deprecate at some point in the future

I personally often need to do something that is easy in SQL, but less intuitive in django. I wonder why the django community seems to want to move away from these.

I began my career in Rails, which had a very intuitive method for this, it would be nice to see Django support it as well.

Author.joins("INNER JOIN books ON books.author_id = authors.id AND books.out_of_print = FALSE")

I’m not clear on what you’re trying to accomplish here that can’t be handled through the ORM. Do you have a specific example you can post? (You make a reference to a phone_number, but your simplified example doesn’t include one.)