Use of Middlewares with Class Based Views

Hi,

I have been looking for the answer since 3 days, so if anyone can make things clearer for me, that would be great (I’m new to Django).

So, i created a CBV with a get method that i supposed to render a template and display a message.
class ShowEntityView(TemplateView):
def get(self, request):
pass

This CBV is accessible through a URL that contains 3 arguments (PID, CHECK, HASH).
path('entities/<entity_pid>/<check_id>/<hash_id>/', ShowEntityView.as_view())

The PID is a unique identifier of a database entity.

As i want to verify the existence of the entity before returning a response, i thought of creating a middleware and calling it using a decorator.
@method_decorator([VerifyExistenceAndSetEntity], name='dispatch')

And the middleware looks something like :

class VerifyExistenceAndSetEntity:
    def __init__(self, get_response):
        self.get_response = get_response

def __call__(self, request):
        return HttpResponseNotFound("reached")
        # response = self.get_response(request)
        # return response

I was expecting to have a 404 page with the message “reached”, but no, i’m having an error :
__call__() got an unexpected keyword argument 'entity_pid'

I tried different approches like using the “MiddlewareMixin” class, but nothing works !

Please tell me what i am doing wrong !

Thank you.

Hi,

I think you are on the wrong track here. You could just use the ORM to ask if the entity exists in your database:
get_object_or_404(Entity,pk=entity_pid)
I guess this is what your Middleware ist trying to do too, you can read about it here: https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/3.0/topics/http/shortcuts/#get-object-or-404

Thank’s for your answer.

You actually showed me how i would verify that my entity exist !

I could easily use “get_object_or_404” within my views, but i wanted to delegate this verification logic to a middleware.