Web App Idea / Asking for Feedback

Hello! I hope I’m not asking too much, but I have an idea for a web app, and could use some feedback and some wisdom.

Me: I’m a novice to both Python and Django. For a short time in college I was employed as a student web developer (building web tools in ASP/MS-SQL) but haven’t coded since, so consider me a novice programmer as well.

Problem: In my field, a lot of qualifications expire on an annual or biennial basis. Additionally, hours of experience in specific skills is important to potential employers, so individuals typically track their hours of experience in various areas, and present that on their resume in a tabular format. I’ll also note that employment is often short-term or seasonal, and contracting (as little as one day contracts) is common. We’re often looking for the next thing.

This creates a situation where a static resume is really only good the day you send it. Professionals in my field really need a dynamic resume that they can easily keep current. LinkedIn isn’t popular in my field (probably because it’s not good at tracking and presenting the types of data that’s important to potential employers.)

My idea for a solution: I want to build a web app that will let someone easily set up a simple but professional web presence. Effectively a web-hosted, dynamic CV. When someone applies for a job or contract, they can export it as a PDF and send it in. If they wish, they can link to the web version with a statement along the lines of “This resume is also available and kept up-to-date on my website”.

Features:

• Easy to create their web presence and low-friction to keep it updated.
  • Designed specifically for my field and it’s unique needs for tracking/displaying qualifications and experience
  • Professional and clean in appearance, but with some ability to customize the aesthetics to their liking.
  • Ability to generate a well-formatted PDF resume on-the-fly.