What's new in Django 5.0 [video]

Django 5.0 is out! :tada:

I have a video summarising what’s new here: https://youtu.be/lPl5Q5gv9G8?feature=shared

If you have time, give it a watch and let me know what you like and what can be better.
I’m also very very new to this, so I appreciate the support :heart:

14 Likes

Love it, love it, love it!

1 Like

Great work!
Thanks for the wrapped up content! Django 5.0 is coming with several interesting features!

1 Like

Thank you @KenWhitesell and @leandrodesouzadev! Means a lot :heart:

Everything about this is awesome!

1 Like

Thank you @StephanieAG :grin:
I was nervous but everyone’s positivity has made it all worth it :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

1 Like

c’était super ta vidéo. très interessante.

1 Like

merci beaucoup! j’ai fait de mon mieux :blush:

1 Like

I’m also working on my very first pull request here https://github.com/django/django/pull/17515
I hope to finalize it brilliantly so that it appears in your next video. :grin:

1 Like

I just stumbled over this post and watched the video right away. Made me want to try out 5.0 at the next possible occasion.

As for feedback:

• Good graphics, nice personal touch, felt light and entertaining
  • Pace was a bit to fast for me. Several times I felt the urge to rewind a bit to catch what was said
  • It’s probably just me, but it was a bit difficult for me to see the relevant code parts while you were talking about a new feature. And I’m pretty sure it’s hard to get right for everybody.
    Animation, fast zooming in/out and bluring the surrounding context to highlight the relevant code part, took me some more time to focus on the relevant part. I think, even if it’s boring, it would have helped just me to actually just highlighted the code part in a different color or with a colored box arround it. But as I said, I’m no expert when it comes to this and the experience is probably different for everybody
  • When you said: “… and my personal favourite:”