Build from scratch / Use starter kit / Modify starter kit?

Hi all

I’ve dabbled in these prior as a hobby

• Languages: Python, Javascript, HTML, CSS
  • Frameworks: Django, Express

However, I have no experience in building production grade and battle tested systems.

While opinionated, I know starter kits are a great way to build production grade and battle tested systems. I know of two starter kits

1. cookiecutter-django
  2. djangox

However, I’ve a few concerns when using these starter kits. (I have not evaluated and assessed their code base, nor their dependencies)

1. While starter kits have included and structured various libraries, different libraries likely structure their code differently. This makes the kits hard to understand conceptually
  2. I don’t know what assumptions were made while these kits were structured
  3. In the medium term (3-5 years), these starter kits may not leverage new programming paradigms (i.e. async) introduced in mainline Django to make their code cleaner, more maintainable, and have better performance

Not sure if these concerns are valid, and how they are mitigated. I know too that if I end up building and integrating various libraries from scratch, I will likely not waste just time, but also make a mess out of project structure and maintainability.

I’ve a few questions:

1. How do you manage different libraries with different coding styles? One way I know is to write an adapter above these libraries.
  2. While I know there isn’t a perfect starter kit, when do you all decide to just build from scratch (vanilla Django), use a starter kit as is, or remove what you don’t need from the starter kit?
  3. Apart from cookiecutter-django and djangox, what other popular starter kits for Django are there? Ideally, the starter kit should be well maintained and have good and lasting traction.

Thanks!