Clear things up pls

I am fairly new to Django and I am learning it to create a web application that will have a website and a mobile app. I am struggling to understand how it all fits in together and I would love it if someone can just tell me if I am on the right track.

I am using REST Framework because I need the API for the app to use. So I want to know if I have to use the framework for the website itself? Reason why I ask is that the website is on the server so it is not going to call the API because it does not need to. It can access the database directly so why would it need to call the API? Also if I use the REST Framework for the website itself then I have to do a bunch of extra work rendering templates, which I don’t have to do if I just use the custom user model I created and create views to make the user register and login?

I have looked at 20 different videos and everybody does the authentication in a different way so it’s a little confusing and I really don’t want to use the username way because then again you have to do a bunch of extra work to check the user names and even give the user suggestions on what user name to use. It’s annoying when try to register on a site and you get told a number f times the username already exists, especially if you have a common name like John Smith :laughing:

Wow, a lot of questions here - let’s take a stab at some of them, shall we?

Always keep in mind that DRF (Django REST Framework) is an add-on package to Django. It supplements the facilities provided by the core framework. It does not “replace” or “hide” or in any way inhibit usage of any other component or app.