Django mystery

so l am a computer engineering student who can build a basic application like accommodation app l always think a good programmer writes code from scratch l am learning Django it is about 2 years l just feel like l dont know anything even the python language i have been using for 3 years l usually do it when its urgent and l use gemini a lot to generate codes for my django application is it recommended? I have been putting a lot of effort but l m feeling like its not working is it my approach that is bad or l have to explore other ways like learning another framework maybe python is not stickng into my head or maybe l already know but l m thinking l could be better because in django l know creating models, creating forms rendering htmls urls, admin accounts and everything like that whats your recommendation l want to be best. I want to progress please l want someone who is willing to mentor me. I really want to be proficient and what amount of time should l put in my work.

if you use stuff like gemini or chatgpt “a lot”, no offence but … no wonder.

I don’t really know what to say about that apart from “beware generative AI hallucinations”. GAI can be a useful tool to get a snippet or two… but it will never replace putting in the long hours spent thinking about something.

Anyway, my 2 cents…

also, wall of text :slight_smile:

Okay thanks.May l ask how can l be better. Do y’all write code from scratch building a complex app or?

No one ever writes 100% from scratch. I think.
We are all guilty of copy and pasting stuff around. I think.

It’s strictly personal so to each their own. I have no idea how you are wired, what works with you, what doesn’t etc.

For example, the principle of reusability manifests itself along a large spectrum, going from risky/dangerous to clever:
. risky: mindless copy/paste