GSOC 2020 - Help regarding Project Idea

Hi everone,
I am Naveen, a final year student pursuing Computer Science and Engineering. I have been working with Django for past 3-4 years now. I have worked over 50+ projects in Django and DRM. I have built a complete course too at geeksforgeeks for django-basics. I want to participate in GSOC with a good proposal. Thinking all over, i came over this -

Proposal - Integrate Django with popular Production servers such as heroku, pythonanywhere plus the paid ones like AWS, Azure, etc.

I have been facing this problem for a while now so as to push something from local to production takes a 15-20 minute process. I wish to automate it using manage.py layer so that any fellow developer could push a local Django web app at one command to any of popular servers.

Kindly review and provide guidelines for the same. I have huge interest with Django now and would love to contribute to the community. I have been helping fellowmates through the Django telegram channel as well.

Thanks and Regards
Naveen Arora

Hi Naveen.

Welcome aboard!

This kind of thing has been talked about a few times, and there is a gap here. (It’s a long way from the Django Tutorial to a deployed app.)

Previously it’s been worried that it’s simply too big a topic, with too many options. So I guess the first step is to show how you’d narrow it down.

There are some common steps: migrate the DB, get the static files in place, get the production settings into the environment, run. Do you have an abstraction in mind here that would encapsulate these?

This is an ambitious project. It’s going to be about the quality of the proposal, showing that what you’re trying to achieve is realistic in the time frame.

Happy to discuss some if you can flesh it out.

Kind Regards,

Carlton

1 Like

Hi sir,