Initial question for GSoC 2024: Ticket #32519

Hi everyone! I am new to contributing to Django and had already worked on few tickets during Djangonauts session. While searching for more tickets to work on, I came across one that looks very interesting: #32519 (Add support for using key and path transforms in update() for JSONFields.) – Django

It seems that this new feature is very anticipated by many users (based on CC). I do think it will take huge changes even though the scope is already limited to JSON_SET and JSON_REMOVE. I think considering the big changes & efforts, it may be great if we could work on during GSoC. There is one question that I still wonder: can we pick this ticket for proposal? I am not sure whether it could be scoped as 175 hours. Now, GSoC allows to include ~90 hours project, but based on Wiki, it needs to be 175 hours minimum.

Thank you!

I think the lack of mention of the 90 hours project is only because it is new this year. If 90 hours feels like enough then we should be able to accommodate.

Hi @adzshaf, as far as I’m aware as Adam said the 90 hour option isn’t on the wiki just because it’s new. Should be no problem if you make the case that’s the right project size.

Since it’s a project idea of your own, personally I’d recommend to spend some time detailing your proposal a bit here so you can get feedback from potential mentors? You don’t need to draft it all, just perhaps flagging key aspects of the work that will need analysis.

Or another option you could explore is combining this with other tickets or possible improvements that don’t have tickets. Have this ticket as your project’s “main goal”, then add a series of secondary or stretch goals if you’d rather go for the 175 hours project size.

Hope this helps!

Hi @adzshaf, thanks for bringing up this ticket! I gave it a go briefly a while back, and I think I would expect at least 100h to complete the ticket. For beginners, I wouldn’t be surprised if it took more than 120h.