Need guidance to start contributing

Hey I’m new to open source and i really want to start contributing because i find it very interesting. The problem is that I’m not quite sure where to get started. I’ve read https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/dev/internals/contributing/ and looked at some issues at the issue tracker and I was really overwhelmed . I could understand some of the issues but then I’m really having trouble familiarizing myself with the codebase and don’t understand where to look for what. It would really be helpful if someone could mentor me and get me started. Any help would be appreciated thank you :smile: .

1 Like

Hey @chinmoy12c, what exactly it is that you are looking for guidance about?

I am a new contributor to Django project and have about a couple of years experience working with Django as a web developer. I just created my first Pull Request to django project. Here are the things that helped me.

• Is it in terms of understanding Django codebase?
    – If so, my approach has been to jump into what I need to work on, i.e. pick a ticket from easy tickets. And if you don’t find anything unassigned, choose something that someone else is working on but try to fix it by yourself without looking at their code changes. This will give you the much needed initial exposure to code base and the initial confidence bump
  • Is it to set up your local dev environment?
    – I found the Django contributing guide (link you shared your post) and these instructions by Carlton Gibson dcus2019sprints very helpful

Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Hey @ProProgrammer thank you so much for your help. I would implement this approach as well, one problem is that i find difficulty in pin pointing the exact code for a particular issue. Is it normal for beginners to experience this? And if so is there a defined way that i can follow? Thanks again :smile: .