Unclear about folder structure with virtual environment

I’m still new to Django, lol (about a week into it). Using v4.0.1 (on Windows 10), which seems to be a little different from all the 3.x versions that tutorials all over the Web are focused on.
Without going into all the ways I came to the point of posting this question, I’ll just show you this structure first…

C:\www
    |-- myproject
    |    |-- Include
    |    |-- Lib
    |    |-- testsite/
    |    |    |-- testsite /
    |    |    |    |-- __init__.py
    |    |    |    |-- asgi.py
    |    |    |    |-- settings.py
    |    |    |    |-- urls.py
    |    |    |    |-- wsgi.py
    |    |    |-- manage.py
    |    |-- Scripts/
    |    |-- pyvenv.cfg

…and then ask: Does that look correct to you? I ask because I thought there was supposed to be an actual venv folder in there somewhere. In the command prompt I see this:

(myproject) C:\www>

Where I thought I might see something more like this (per other tutorials):

(venv) C:\www\myproject>

I have found zero tutorials for v4.0.1 outside of the official docs, but even those seem unclear in some areas, which is why I came here to ask. :slight_smile:

Hi! Welcome to the world of Django.

So probably the reason you won’t find any definitive answers on this topic is because there aren’t any.

There’s no one right-way to set up your environment, just different practices based on need.

Keep in mind:

• Python virtual environments exist to allow you to keep separate groups of libraries for different “projects” or groups of projects. The virtual environment itself is not a part of your Django project, it is effectively a container (generic term, not in the “docker” sense) for the libraries that your Django project will use.

• Some people will put their virtual environment within their projects because they have separate virtual environments for each Django system they build.