Advices and "To Do Lists" for Newbies

Hi folks,

First, if I violate some of the rules in there by this message, please forgive me. I am a student for software engineering, and trying to be a great contributor for open source projects because I want to be an active member for the open source community and learn something by practicing.

They say Django is one of the great open source projects to say welcome newbies. So, I wanna learn how to become a master of software engineer from there. That is the plan :slight_smile:

I noticed that there is “Issue Section” which allows “Easy Pick” for bugs. That is great for starting. I think I can be usefull there by solving some easy problem, but I want to deep dive for projects, and although, I have some coding and debugging skills, and knowledge of algorithm and data structures. I feel these are not enough for deep moves. I need to learn desing patterns, web structrures, advanced python languages skills etc.

This is a jungle, and I might lost in there. So if you are an experienced developer, and bear to read that message till there, please give me some advices, some guides, some cool sources, a to do list to be like you. For example, I have just explored MDC Doc web page, and it is great place to learn web technologies. Then I decided to ask what else there to be explore. Let me find it.

Thank you,

1 Like

Hi @c-firat, welcome to the community!

This is a pretty open ended question so I apologize if I’m not conveying the information you’re looking for. From what I understand you’re looking to be an active contributor to Django. Here are my suggestions (not in order):