Integrating Django into existing cmd project

Hello,

I am very new to Django so I apologize in advance if there are any misconceptions about the framework within this question. I have developed a log analysis program that currently uses the command-line as the user interface using the cmd2 library. I am attaching an image of the project structure with the different Python files. The program is started from log_analyze.py. The commands are parsed in user_interface.py. Other classes like sddc_log.py, get_logs.py, etc. contain logic that is used in the commands for parsing through logs. We currently run this program from VM that our teammates have access to. We are thinking of also creating a web UI for this program so that team members can connect to the VM from the browser to perform log analysis. My question is what would be the best way to organize a Django project that can leverage the existing logic we have in these other Python files and use that information to populate the web UI. Specifically, what would be the proper file structure? Are there any other aspects that I should pay specific attention to? Would this even be a good use case of Django? Thanks for your help in advance.

I believe about the easiest way to do this would be to create another directory in your project to store these files. They won’t be a “Django app” in the Django sense of the word, but can still be imported and have functions run by your views. (You might have “import” statements that may need to be changed - it’s just something to keep an eye on.)

The more sophisticated way of doing this would be to turn this into an installable package for those files to be installed in your virtual environment.

Either way, keep in mind that when you’re running code on the server, that code is running as the user that the server is running as (e.g. gunicorn or uwsgi) and not the user accessing the site. You may have file & directory permission issues to address as well.