The future demand of Django

Hello. I really enjoy using Django, and want to get a job in it. I have created multiple projects using it. The problem is that I am 14 years old, in the uk studying for my GCSE exams next year. I know I 100% want to be a web developer when I am older. Maybe 10 years from now or after university.

My question is will there be demand for Django in the future. So when I do start working, will Django still be popular. What does Django’s future look like? Will there be demand in 10 or 30 years for Django. Will it be used by multiple companies? Also is Django currently declining in popularity and demand, or is it increasing. What is your opinion on all of this?

1 Like

<opinion mode>

tl;dr: It’s more important to learn and understand the fundamentals than it is to specialize in any technology that uses them.

Longer answer:

I’m at the other end of the career spectrum. I’ve been a programmer for more than 40 years now. I’ve survived in a field that is always looking for the “new and shiny” “next big thing” by making sure I’ve dug beneath the surface of any topic or technology that I’ve worked with.

What this has done has been to allow me to grow and change over time by learning new technologies as how they relate to an earlier generation. (The rest is merely details.)

For example, Docker is considered a “new technology” in terms of application isolation between instances. However, fundamentally, it’s not far removed from IBM’s OS/MVT which was released in 1968. Full virtual machines date back to 1972.

Now, is my specific knowledge of OS/MVT or VM/CMS of any practical use any more? No. Not in the least. But, the fundamental concepts still apply - in many ways, the names have changed but the ideas stay the same.